Vote for your favorite Safeco® Community Hero

Seattle, Wash. (June 3, 2012) — Help local heroes win cash for their charities by participating in the “Vote for your favorite Safeco Community Hero” online event beginning June 4.

All your votes could add up, helping the top vote-getters make even more of a difference for their local communities. The hero with the most votes will win a $10,000 donation for their favorite nonprofit organization and the runner-up will get $5,000.

Each of the 14 community heroes showcased in the voting event already has been selected to receive a Safeco Community Hero Award and a $5,000 check from Safeco Insurance for the charity they support. These inspiring individuals were nominated by Safeco’s independent agent partners across the country through the Safeco Insurance® Agent Giving Program, which is designed to recognize and celebrate those who positively impact their communities through a focus on education, health and safety or civic engagement.

“Safeco is honored to recognize these local heroes who make their communities better and inspire others to get involved,” said Brenda Mann Harrison, manager of the Agent Giving Program for Safeco. “We applaud all the agents who are personally committed to making a difference and took the time to nominate these amazing individuals.”

To participate in the Vote for your favorite Safeco Community Hero event, first click on the name of each hero to read all 14 inspiring stories, then click the vote button under your favorite. We’ve included photos of the heroes and those who nominated them! Individuals must be 13 or older to vote. You can vote once every 24 hours beginning June 4 until the contest ends 9 a.m. PDT June 25.

Congratulations to the 14 Safeco Community Heroes and charities featured in the spring voting event:

  • Mary Bjerke for Special Olympics in North Dakota
  • Sally Budack for Safe Streets Campaign in Washington
  • Brenda Davis for Special Wish Child in Texas 
  • Dawn Hammacott for Community Culinary School of Northwestern Connecticut
  • Jeff Henning for Folds of Honor Foundation in Mississippi 
  • Dave Moosman for the Society of St. Vincent de Paul in Oregon
  • Steve Owens for the Rialto Community Theater in Montana
  • Dena Petty for Movement Toward a Future in Texas
  • Gregg Rall for Christopher’s Clubhouse in California
  • John Rice for TEEG in Connecticut
  • Mark Russo for Meals on Wheels of Staten Island in New York
  • Holly Schilling for Royal Family Kids’ Camp in Ohio
  • Eleanor Stearns for the Geneva Theatre Guild in New York
  • Manny Topper for Hatzalah of Baltimore in Maryland

About Safeco Insurance

In business since 1923 and based in Boston, Mass., Safeco Insurance sells personal automobile, homeowners and specialty products through a network of more than 10,000 independent insurance agencies throughout the United States. Safeco is a Liberty Mutual Insurance company.

Boston-based Liberty Mutual Insurance is a diversified insurer and the fifth largest property and casualty insurer in the U.S. based on 2015 direct written premium data as reported by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. Liberty Mutual Insurance is ranked 73rd on the Fortune 100 list of largest U.S. corporations, based on 2015 revenue.

For more information about Safeco Insurance, go to

© 2017 Liberty Mutual Insurance, 175 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, 02116

Insurance is offered by Safeco Insurance Company of America and/or its affiliates, with their principal place of business at 175 Berkeley Street, Boston, Massachusetts, 02116. This website provides a simplified description of coverage. Nothing stated herein creates a contract. All statements made are subject to the provisions, exclusions, conditions and limitations of the applicable insurance policy. Please refer to actual policy forms for complete details regarding the coverage discussed. If the information in these materials conflicts with the policy language that it describes, the policy language prevails. Coverages and features not available in all states. Eligibility is subject to meeting applicable underwriting criteria.